California Council on Diesel Education and Technology

Class Schedule

Instructions: The California Council on Diesel Education and Technology provides one-day training courses through selected Community Colleges. Find a college and class date that fit your schedule, and then click the Register Button. Registration procedures differ slightly by college. Follow the instructions on the form or page that displays after clicking Register.
Course Descriptions

New Course!

CCDET III: Opacity Testing for Cargo Handling Equipment

Length: 1/2 Day (4 hours)

Price: Free through February, 2020 

Certification: 4 Years

Where: Los Angeles Trade Technical College (release at other CCDET colleges soon)

Course Content:

This 4-hour course covers implementing the opacity testing for Cargo Handling Equipment (CHE). It includes the environmental and health impacts of particulate matter, smoke test regulations, requirements, and standards as they apply to CHE, SAE J1667 Snap-Acceleration Test procedures with specific variations for CHE, Opacity Test fail procedures, considerations for testing CHE with retrofitted DPFs, and an approved procedure for performing the Snap-Acceleration Test on RTG Cranes. The course includes both classroom and hands-on components.

 

 

Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection Program (HDVIP)

Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP)

Length: 1 Day (8 hours)

Price: $175

Certification: 4 Years

Course Content:

  • Hands-on SAE J1667 Snap Acceleration Smoke Test Procedures for Heavy-Duty Diesel Powered Vehicle
  • Basic smoke emissions troubleshooting and repair
  • California s heavy-duty vehicle inspection programs

 

 

Diesel Exhaust After-Treatment and Maintenance

Length: 1 Day (8 hours)

Price: $175

Certification: 4 Years

Course Content:

  • Wall-flow diesel particulate filters (DPF) and selective catalytic reduction (SCR) systems
  • Why diesel particulate filters are necessary
  • How regeneration strategies such as passive and active systems operate
  • How filters might fail and preventative maintenance practices to avoid break downs
  • Overview of SCR systems used on heavy-duty diesel engines
  • Hands-on shop exercises to reinforce maintenance procedures

 

Northern California

American River College  |  Mather Center, 10150 Missile Way, Mather, CA 95655

CCDET I

7:30am – 4:30pm

  • Mar 9, 2019 (Sat)
  • May 4, 2019 (Sat)
  • June 29, 2019 (Sat)
  • August 24, (Sat)
  • Sept 14, 2019 (Sat)
  • Nov 2, 2019 (Sat)
  • Jan 25, 2020 (Sat)
  • Feb 8, 2020 (Sat)
  • March 28, 2020 (Sat)
  • May 16, 2020 (Sat)

CCDET II

7:30am – 4:30pm

  • April 6, 2019 (Sat)
  • June 15, 2019 (Sat)
  • Aug 10, 2019 (Sat)
  • Oct 5, 2019 (Sat)
  • April 18, 2020 (Sat)

CCDET III

8:30am – 12:30pm

  • March 23, 2019 (Sat)
  • October 19, 2019
  • March 21, 2020 (Sat)

San Franciso Bay Area

College of Alameda  |  Diesel Technology Bldg., 555 Ralph Appezzato Memorial Parkway, Alemeda, CA 94501 

CCDET I

  • Feb 15, 2019 (Fri)
  • April 5, 2019 (Fri)
  • June 14, 2019 (Fri)
  • Aug 16, 2019 (Fri)
  • Oct 18, 2019 (Fri)
  • Dec 13, 2019 (Fri)

CCDET II

  • April 6, 2019 (Sat)
  • Oct 19, 2019 (Sat)
  • Dec 14, 2019 (Sat)
CCDET III

  • November 10, 2018
  • March 2, 2019 (Sat)
  • August 30, 2019  (Fri)

Central California

San Joaquin Delta College  |  Diesel Technology Building, Shima Center,  5151 Pacific Avenue, Stockton, CA 95207

CCDET I

Friday: 7:30 am – 4:30 pm

  • Jan 25, 2019
  • Feb 8, 2019
  • March 8, 2019
  • April 5, 2019
  • May 17, 2019
  • June 15, 2019 (Saturday)
  • September 20, 2019
  • October 25, 2019
  • November 8, 2019
  • November 22, 2019
  • December 6, 2019
CCDET II

Friday: 7:30 am – 4:30 pm

  • Feb 1, 2019
  • March 1, 2019
  • September 13, 2019
  • November 1, 2019
CCDET III

Friday: 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

  • February 22, 2019
  • November 22, 2019
  • February 7, 2020

Southern California

Los Angeles Trade-Tech College  |  400 West Washington Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90015 

CCDET I: HDVIP / PSIP
8:00 am – 4:30 pm

Eventbrite - CCDET I: HDVIP/PSIP

Course Dates

  • Jan 16, 2019 (Wed)
  • Feb 21, 2019 (Thur)
  • March 14, 2019 (Thur)
  • April 11, 2019 (Thur)
  • May 9, 2019 (Thur)
  • June 13, 2019 (Thur)
  • July 17, 2019 (Wed)
  • Aug 14, 2019 (Wed)
  • Sept 12, 2019 (Thur)
  • Oct 17, 2019 (Thur)
  • Nov 14, 2019 (Thur)
  • Dec 5, 2019 (Thur)
CCDET II: DEAM
8:00 am – 4:30 pm

Eventbrite - CCDET II: DEAM

Course Dates

  • Jan 17, 2019 (Thur)
  • Feb 22, 2019 (Fri)
  • March 15, 2019 (Fri)
  • April 12, 2019 (Fri)
  • May 10, 2019 (Fri)
  • June 14, 2019 (Fri)
  • July 18, 2019 (Thur)
  • Aug 15, 2019 (Thur)
  • Sept 13, 2019 (Fri)
  • Oct 18, 2019 (Fri)
  • Nov 15, 2019 (Fri)
  • Dec 6, 2019 (Fri)

CCDET III: CHE
8:00 am – 12:00 pm

Eventbrite - CCDET III: Opacity Testing for Cargo Handling Equipment

Course Dates

  • May 3, 2019 (Friday)
  • August 13, 2019 (Tuesday)
  • September 20, 2019 (Friday)
  • October 25, 2019 (Friday)
  • November 22, 2019 (Friday)
  • December 13, 2019 (Friday)
  • January 16, 2020 (Thursday)
  • January 17, 2020 (Friday)
  • January 23, 2020 (Thursday)
  • January 24, 2020 (Friday)
  • February 21, 2020 (Friday)

Palomar College  |  1140 West Mission Road, San Marcos, CA 92069 

CCDET I

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Thursday

  • February 21, 2019
  • March 14, 2019
  • April 11, 2019
CCDET II

8:00 am to 5:00 PM

Friday

  • February 22, 2019
  • March 15, 2019
  • April 18, 2019
CCDET III

12:00 pm to 4:00 PM

Tuesday

  • February 19, 2019
  • March 5, 2019

Santa Ana College  |  1530 W. 17th Street, Santa Ana, CA 92706

CCDET I

Friday

  • May 3, 2019
  • June 7, 2019
  • August 23, 2019
  • October 4, 2019
  • December 6, 2019
    CCDET II

    Friday

    • October 12, 2018

    CCDET enrollment or content questions: See contact for college near you.
    Website Admin: Boldinke@lattc.edu (Ken Bolding)

    This page last reviewed Dec 3, 2019 @ 8:33 am.